IONA School of Formation Graduation

2015 Graduating Class

On Sunday, June 14th, the Episcopal Diocese of Oklahoma’s IONA School of Formation held a graduation ceremony for the Class of 2015. This class is the first to complete all three years of their education and formation program in our IONA School of Formation.

Our Class of 2015 includes Bryan Beard, Laura Blazek, Glenda Marie Ford-Lee, Suzanne Mollison, Larry S. Rogers, Michael Mack Watkins and Jim D. Welch.

The Episcopal Diocese of Oklahoma’s IONA School of Formation is a part of the larger IONA Initiative. The IONA Initiative includes several dioceses that have joined to share resources and develop programs for the education and formation of deacons and priests in The Episcopal Church. The IONA Initiative is modeled after the IONA School for Ministry of the Episcopal Diocese of Texas, a three-year education and formation program that includes academic work, dedicated fieldwork and a final paper. The Seminary of the Southwest serves as the institutional home of the IONA Initiative and, in conjunction with each diocesan Bishop, is responsible for certifying that each student has satisfactorily completed the academic requirements.

These education and formation programs are designed to be of the utmost quality and to remain standardized in crucial elements. However, they are also designed to allow each school the flexibility to adapt their program to best meet their local needs. The core values of the IONA Initiative are central to the mission of each school: missional leadership, collaborative development, commitment to excellence, community building, professional network, and integrated learning.

Our recent graduation ceremony for the Class of 2015 was truly a joyous celebration centered in both the serious dedication these students hold for their mission and ministry, and the joyful thanksgiving for this wonderful education and formation opportunity they shared.

924 N. Robinson I Oklahoma City, OK 73102
(405) 232-4820
Hours: 9 am to 5 pm CST


Diocesan Staff Email Login